Online gaming in Erlang

I love computer games, everyone who knows me is aware of this. Maybe I’m not a gamer with 30-year experience, but at least I do remember playing North vs. South and Mortal Kombat on Amiga with my neighbour. I don’t need to add he kicked my ass, but hey – I was 7 years old kid and he was at least 5 years older than me. I also spent hundreds of hours with my cousin and Tank 1990 in co-op. Later I found out this game running on SNES emulator can help in surviving boring lectures when I went to university.

When I was younger, it didn’t matter what genre was the game I played – NFS, adventure, FIFA (FIFA 98 is still the best one in the series because it allows playing with mouse!) or Baldur’s Gate. As of today, shelf above me is filled almost only with RPGs. One may argue if Mass Effect or Diablo is true RPG but who cares. ๐Ÿ˜‰ To be honest, I never liked multiplayer games (except for short period of meeting schoolmates in Internet cafe and spending few hours every day with Counter-Strike) – maybe it’s strange but I like predictability. Every adventure in Baldur’s Gate 2 was more and more interesting when I knew what to expect and could perfect my team + getting my Summoner to 50th lvl. ๐Ÿ™‚

Then a beautiful ginger entity appeared in my life and convinced me one day to join her in Polish MMORPG game (Margonem) and I was gone for a week. Over time we tried various other online games, current one is Settlers Online.

Some time ago I thought it would be nice to create own online game and it still exists in very early stage on GitHub and in more advanced form on paper. Now it’s “frozen”.

Maybe we’re (I mean everyone in my flat) not maniacs of board games but it’s common for us to meet in the evening in one room and play Monopoly, Scrabble or Talisman (in Polish: “Magia i Miecz”/”Magic & Sword”). Not so long ago Krzysiek found scanned version of very old game called Citadel of Blood (in Polish: “Labirynt ล›mierci”/”Labyrinth of Death”). It seems to be simple but has quite interesting mechanics. Since it is over 30 years old, I assumed no one would really care about copyrights and I decided to create a free server (and later also client) implementing this game, which I want to write in Erlang. I don’t think anyone will ever use it for launching MMO game, it’s main purpose is to be a proof of concept and a pure fun for me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Project page is here and I hope I will find enough time to keep development going. For now what I have on my HDD is basic board pieces generation, which creates basic fields with monsters included.

And why Erlang? Simply because I work as Erlang developer and I really don’t want return to any other language. I truly believe it has feature and I’d like to combine both things I enjoy: computer games and programming in Erlang. ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in CitadErl, Games. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

